Skip to content

Seedling Sorrows

April 15, 2009

I am sad to say that my seed starting endeavor hasn’t gone as well as I had hoped. Chalk this one up to lessons learned. Best I can tell I would be better off starting the seeds in slightly larger pots. This will require using a shelving unit or something similar so that I have more room for shelves. I also need to pay more attention to the timing of my seed planting. I guess it is a good thing I didn’t use all the seed in the trays! One more lesson learned in the Victory Garden. Any wisdom from the blogosphere? Should I have done anything else differently?

Seedlings

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 10:32 pm

    Not sure how far your light source was from the seedlings was… but perhaps keeping the light source closer would help.

    • Lauren permalink*
      April 16, 2009 10:00 am

      Well, the light source was pretty close…probably 3-6 inches. I used the Burpee Seed starting trays.

  2. April 20, 2009 10:13 pm

    I think you probably needed to transplant seedlings from those plug trays to larger pots at some point, and they do look like they need more light, as Janet mentioned.

    It’s all a learning curve, and even our Nursery Manager didn’t manage to understand that warm-season vegetable plants needed lots of warmth to flourish and definitely needed to be hardened-off, before being exposed to the real world of Garden Fest last weekend. Some of those transplants were definitely ‘shocked’!

    Cheers,
    Lisa

    • Lauren permalink*
      April 21, 2009 8:14 am

      I am sure that you are right about putting them in bigger pots. Next year I think I will start them in bigger containers from the beginning. I’ll work on the light issue as well. Chalk this to the lessons learned category.

Leave a Reply

