Skip to content

Sunflower Seedlings Attacked

April 21, 2009

Sunflower Seedling

My sunflower seedlings are under attack even as I write. I planted the seeds last Wednesday and due to the warmer weather and rain they are already growing very nicely. However, it would appear that a vicious bird has attempted to hijack the seed case that was still attached to the new leaves of some of the seedlings. Hmmm, now what can I do to defend them? I am depending on the sunflowers to act as stakes for the peas to run up. Any suggestions?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2009 9:07 am

    I had bunnies attack my sunflower seedlings last year. I had a couple of packets of Van Gogh series sunflowers….all but one were eaten!! The sunflower that did do well was one from the birdseed that germinated and grew under the feeder.
    Drove through Greenville twice this week….we will be very close geographically when I get to Greenwood.

    • Lauren permalink*
      April 25, 2009 9:01 pm

      Yes, Greenville is pretty easy to get to from Greenwood and it is a nice town…we lived there for a while about 20 years ago. We are about 2 hours north and east…like going to Charlotte. Lisa at Natural Gardening is in Clemson so Greenville and Greenwood are in the middle.

Leave a Reply

