Skip to content

Bloomin’ Heirlooms

May 9, 2009

Tomato Blossoms

In cooperation with the rain and warm weather we have been having, my German Queen, Red Beefsteak and Cherokee Rose tomatoes are all blooming! Marion and Brandywine varieties are a bit behind, but should begin blooming soon. I remember that my Uncle Buck used to grow the big beefsteak tomatoes when I was a child. Those tomatoes were, in my memory, the size of a salad plate. They made perfect tomato sandwiches. One slice was all you needed and the taste was sublime.

Last year I discovered the Cherokee Rose among others at the local farmers market. They, too, were pretty large, but the taste was rich and sublime. My husband couldn’t get enough of them so I was happy to find these plants when I went shopping for tomato plants. Brandywine is delicious as well. I haven’t had a German Queen or a Marion variety so I can only look forward to tasting these varieties when they get ripe. I can hardly wait!

I really wanted to find the one that appears red and yellow striped or marbled. I don’t know what it’s name is and so will have to search for it next year. Mortgage Lifter and some of the other heirloom tomatoes with fun names were also not available locally…at least not where I was looking. I’ll have to search harder next year. What vegetables are blooming in your garden right now?

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 12:25 pm

    Oh happy day when your ‘maters have blooms on them! Here’s to a great tomato season!

Leave a Reply

