Skip to content

Puny Radishes

June 7, 2009

I planted Cherry Belle Radishes in mid to late March in two different locations in the garden. The batch I planted in the front yard never sprouted at all. The batch in the back came up and were looking good, but I only harvested one decent sized radish from the entire lot. I pulled the rest yesterday when I noticed that some of the plants were going to seed. Even though they are 60 days from planting the seed, they are so tiny as to defy their description as radishes. I realize that this is twice as long as the package says is necessary for maturity. What happened?

Puny Radish

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2009 6:33 pm

    I am not sure, water? fertilizer? sun? loosely worked soil? ???

    • Lauren permalink*
      June 7, 2009 7:14 pm

      We have had plenty of rain, enough that they loosened water restrictions. I had applied fertilizer only once, (Can’t remember the name right now, but an organic one) but it was supposed to last for 3 months. In the back, the soil is pretty loose, but not fluffy. In the front bed, the soil probably left a bit to be desired.

    • Lauren permalink*
      June 7, 2009 8:22 pm

      OK, since my last comment, I consulted the Clemson Cooperative Extension website and looked up their comments on growing radishes. I have learned that perhaps my soil is the problem after all. According to Mr Kluepfel and Smith, radishes prefer sandy or loamy soil. While I have made a real effort to lighten the soil I have brought in for last year’s garden box, perhaps I haven’t lightened it enough? How do I find out for sure?

  2. June 8, 2009 3:47 pm

    Hi, Lauren-
    I’d try another crop in the fall (they like cool weather), and make sure they’re well-thinned. I always have challenges spacing out root vegetables enough (or other directly-sown vegetables, too, for that matter). If you get behind on thinning, the roots stay small!

    Being crowded in heavy soil could easily result in radishes that look like yours. (The best ones I’ve seen here have been grown in raised beds with potting mix).

    Anyway, I find my soil ALWAYS needs amending with compost, leaf mulch, etc, because the organic matter breaks down so rapidly!

    Good luck with your other vegetables — so far this looks like a promising year!

  3. Lauren permalink*
    June 8, 2009 5:05 pm

    Thanks Lisa-
    I’ll give that a try, but one question, when is fall in the Piedmont? I waited last year until about September thinking that it needed to cool off a bit. That must have been too late since not much of what I planted came up until this spring.

Leave a Reply

