Skip to content

State of the Backyard Carolina Victory Garden for June 09

June 8, 2009

Carolina Victory Garden 060509

The backyard garden boxes have been in place for about 60 days now and I thought I would report on the progress thus far.

In box number one, in the front, I planted mostly seeds from the brassica family. As you can see, they have not shown well at all. The kholrabi is small and rather stunted. The dill weed is coming in nicely. Some of the cauliflower and/or broccoli has come up, but no brussels sprouts that I can identify. Two cabbage plants have sprouted and are growing well. I think I may give up on part of this batch of seeds and get some okra transplants to plant in its place.

In box number two I have three Cherokee Rose heirloom tomato plants that are growing nicely with tomatoes on.  A healthy patch of bush beans is  growing well next to the tomatoes and the beans will be ready to harvest soon. Not much else is growing in this box except the three cucumber plants at the end. I am considering adding some transplanted pepper plants to this box.

Box number three, the last of the big boxes, is exploding with growth. There are 10 heirloom tomato plants, German Queen, Beefsteak, Brandywine and Marion varieties that I planted as transplants. There are pole beans in the back and one or two stalks of corn left that the unidentified critter didn’t chew up. The pole beans are climbing all over the place and have beans on them as well.

The small box in the back has carrots that should be coming up for harvest soon. I am waiting to see if they are as puny as the radishes in the old box number 5. In addition to the radishes I had iceberg lettuce, beets, rosemary, sage, over wintered spinach and salad mix, swiss chard and more salad mix planted. The lettuce was either eaten by a slug or just rotted in the rain. The beets are still growing. Overwintered veggies produced about 5 meals worth of salad for 4. I’ll need to harvest the Swiss chard soon and also the last of the salad mix before they go to seed. The rosemary bush and sage are taking over the world. I have cleared out the lettuce, overwintered salad and spinach and the radishes and will be thinking of what else to plant in this bed from transplants.

In the mulch I planted two varieties of squash, Delicata and Black Beauty. Five plants have sprouted and and are growing slowly but well at this point.
So, the verdict on the Carolina Victory Garden is mixed. I suspect that some of my seeds were not the best choices for the South Carolina Piedmont and that my soil is still a work in progress. Last year there was a drought and this year we’ve had plenty of rain and temperate days and nights. How is your garden growing?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 5:43 pm

    Lauren, I think your garden beds look great. I hope your kohlrabi grows, we love it.

  2. gegoNelry permalink
    June 18, 2009 10:56 pm

    Thanks for post. It is really good stuff.
    I really like to read carolinavictorygarden.wordpress.com!

    st. louis teeth whitening

Trackbacks

  1. State of the Front Yard Carolina Victory Garden « Carolina Victory Garden

Leave a Reply

