Skip to content

Proposed Fall Planting 2009 List

June 27, 2009

I’ve been thinking about what I want to plant this fall. As I said the other day, the SC Master Gardener’s Guide indicates that the time to start planting vegetables for fall harvest is next week…well there are a couple of things that could be planted right now, but I am choosing not to plant those items.

I think I will plant the following:

In the front bed in place of the peas, Cucumber-wautoma and perhaps Squash-black beauty. According the the Cooperative Extension’s planting chart I should plant these some time in the next two weeks to get another crop before frost.

In place of the pole beans in back, Kale-Winter Red and swiss chard- Rhubarb and perhaps spinach-Melody hybrid…perhaps I’ll look for another variety of spinach as well. The chard and spinach I’ll plant in mid September and the kale in mid August.

Leaf lettuces I’ll plant in other open spaces in the garden in mid August. I really enjoyed the Heirloom salad mix I got last year…can’t remember where right now… I also have some mesclun mix seed I purchased locally and a Super Gourmet Salad blend from Territorial to try.

I have seed for all of these items. I would like to add a few broccoli plants as well, but it is suggested that one transplant those and so I will. I would also like to plant more snap beans and I’ll have to get seed for those as well since I used all I had this spring.

So, I am asking for suggestions. What other varieties of Kale might I want to try? Are there other, fun or interesting vegetables I might want to experiment with? No root veggies. It is apparent to me after two seasons that I will have to ammend the soil in a bed or two in order to have light enough soil for the roots to grow properly.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2009 8:46 am

    Good for you to be thinking about fall planting. I am only doing lettuce for the fall and considering garlic… I think. Have you done cantalopes at all? Not sure if you have time for a fall crop (we did in Texas)

    • Lauren permalink*
      June 28, 2009 10:14 am

      Yes, I have 5 plants in one of the small front boxes now. I had intended to plant potatoes but my local supplier ran out. So, I planted cantaloupe instead. The Planting Guide in the Master Gardener’s book says that I could plant more right now, but I’ll be satisfied if the first batch makes some fruit. I grew them in Texas as well, Athena variety I think.

  2. July 18, 2009 3:29 pm

    Hi, Lauren-
    I’d try some Tuscan kale, Siberian kale, Red Bor kale, and any of the mustards that appeal to you. I’ve really enjoyed ruby streaks mustard, purple mustard, etc. and am planning on trying a variety of new Asian greens, too, this fall. If you like arugula, it’s nice, too, both fresh and cooked (it makes a wonderful cooked green).

    I’m trying to grow broccoli and broccoli rabe this year from seed, but their success will depend on the August heat, and whether the woodchuck(s) are hungry….

    I have such fun with salad mixes of various sorts, too, especially in flats.
    Hope your cantaloupes have thrived!

    Lisa

    • Lauren permalink*
      July 19, 2009 8:52 pm

      Thanks for the suggestions Lisa, I’ll take them in to consideration.

Leave a Reply

