Skip to content

Cucumbers in the Morning Dew

June 30, 2009

Wautoma Cucumber plants1

Cuke leaf outlined in dew 1 Cucumber leaves etched in dew 1

Cucumber leaf with dew around the edges 1

When I was out checking the garden this morning I noticed an interesting pattern of dew on the leaves of the cucumbers that I thought I would share with you. I have been really pleased with the performance of the Wautoma Cucumber seeds I planted this year. I planted three seeds and now have three very healthy plants. So far I have harvested four cucumbers off the plants and there are lots more cucumbers growing. They are a pickling cucumber according to the seed packet but they are also very good to eat plain with just a little sprinkle of salt too.

I had not expected this performance for several reasons. Last year I planted two different varieties of cucumber neither of which grew well. In addition, Wautoma cucumbers are not listed in the Master Gardener’s Guide as far as I can tell as a variety that grows well in South Carolina. Due to their stellar performance, I will be planting at least six more plants in the front bed later this week. Perhaps I’ll even get enough to make some pickles. Last year I made bread and butter pickles and one other kind. They were pretty good, but I am sure that my grandmother was laughing at me from heaven. I haven’t made pickles since I was a teenager. Do you make pickles? If so, what kind?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 6:56 am

    MMMmmm I love homemade Bread and Butters!! Used to make them when the kids were little. Garden is too shaded for many veggies now– just have 8 tomatoes. Your photo of the leaf is really neat. Love the little droplets along the edge.

    • Lauren permalink*
      July 1, 2009 7:05 am

      Just wait, when you move to Greenwood you’ll have plenty of sun I would guess. More sand though.

  2. July 1, 2009 8:52 am

    And mosquitoes

    • Lauren permalink*
      July 1, 2009 2:07 pm

      In Greenwood? Yes I suppose so!

Leave a Reply

