Skip to content

Vandal Victimizes the Victory Garden Again

July 1, 2009

Cherokee Rose tomato 1

I’ve spent the last few weeks anticipating the wonderful taste of the Cherokee Rose tomatoes that I planted this spring. The first one was ready to eat yesterday and it was absolutely sublime. I have been watching this one for a couple of days so that I could pick it at just the right moment. This morning when I went out to get it, it was no longer on the vine, but in the yard between two of the raised beds and half eaten. The suspect is a feral cat that lives in the neighborhood or a rabbit. If it were a bird, I would put up netting  for a rabbit, I suppose a small fence would do. How do I deter a cat?

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 10:48 pm

    We have muskrats who steal tomatoes, in addition to the squirrels. I am clueless as to what one would do to deter feral cats. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

