Skip to content

Sunflower Sensations

July 5, 2009

Gray Mammoth Sunflowers

Sunflowers

Sunflower Anticipation

The sunflowers in the front yard have started to bloom. I confess that, as beautiful as they are, I am a little disappointed in their size. With a name like Mammoth Gray Stripe, I figured that the flowers would be large sized. Instead, the blossoms are between dessert plate sized and salad plate sized. This is not so bad when I think of it. There are so many different varieties of sunflowers, it is hard for a novice to know for sure until planting a variety to find out how they really look. The Mammoth Gray Stripe sunflowers are about 5 feet tall in my front large bed. Perhaps next year I will try a different variety.  What variety do you suggest?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2009 10:42 pm

    Seems like the only sunflowers that I have that grow large enough to bloom are the ones in the bird seed mix. The bunnies eat all the other little seedlings!!

    • Lauren permalink*
      July 6, 2009 7:39 am

      They seem to like the Piedmont area of SC. I don’t know how they will fare in the midlands, but surely some of the varieties will grow for you when you move. My neighbor has smaller ones growing near our garden area in the back. They are only 2-3 feet tall with smaller flowers.

Leave a Reply

