Skip to content

Fall Planting has Begun

July 6, 2009

I started my fall planting July 1st just as the Planting Guide from the Cooperative Extension suggests. In the large front bed along the netting I planted half a row of wautoma cucumbers and half a row of black beauty summer squash. In the back large bed closest to the house I added an area of  early white bush scallop squash. My neighbors graciously watered the garden while we were away for the weekend and this afternoon I am pleased to report that the cucumber seeds and the scallop squash have already sprouted.

The scallop squash is a new adventure for me. I love them but have never tried to grow them before. The package says they should mature in 50 days. As well as the cucumbers in the back are doing. I am hoping that the vines in the front will produce enough to make some good pickles since we just ran out of last year’s batch. The black beauty squash I planted this spring in the mulch in the back have not grown well. I am hoping that the seeds planted in the front yard in actual dirt will grow well and produce some good squash.

Have you started planting your fall garden?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2009 6:35 am

    You are very well organized Lauren. I am still looking for my first tomato!

    • Lauren permalink*
      July 7, 2009 8:58 am

      Well, thank you. I am trying to be more organized and to learn more as I go along with this gardening thing. I had almost forgotten how to garden in the south so the planting guide has helped me tremendously with getting the timing right. I aspire to follow the example set by Kathy at Skippy’s Vegetable Garden. Not only is she well organized, she also takes great photos. If you haven’t checked out her blog, I think you would enjoy it. She gardens in the burbs near Boston and has a home garden as well as a plot in a local community garden. Skippy is her adorable canine garden assistant.

  2. July 31, 2009 12:50 pm

    http://www.prweb.com/releases/2007/09/prweb553959.htm

    I have just found hydroponics gardening to grow my herbs all year long. I used to grow them outdoors in my backyard, but had problems with animals and pests. Now I have moved my hydroponics garden in-doors and begun growing my garden with hydroponics. The plants grow better and the organic results are wonderful. I would steer you towards hydroponic growing to anyone looking to grow fruits all year. Hydroponics gardening is a lot better than traditional soil gardens in my opinion. Just my 2 cents. I hope this helps…

    hydroponic

    • Lauren permalink*
      July 31, 2009 7:50 pm

      Thanks for the suggestion. Utilizing hydroponics is an interesting way to grow things. Unfortunately, it takes a bit of room to accomplish. At this time, I have found that I have a talent for growing herbs outdoors organicallyand I have limited space in my house with the proper lighting so outdoor gardening makes the most sense for me.

Leave a Reply

