Skip to content

Persistent Pollination

July 8, 2009

Bee's Knees cropped

I know that there is supposed to be a shrinking population of bees in the world, but every morning, when I visit my garden, I find quite a few of these little soldiers working industriously among the vegetables and flowers in my garden. These little garden helpers are among my most valuable friends and I love to watch them work. I managed to catch this fellow wallowing in a cucumber blossom yesterday morning. Isn’t he wonderful?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2009 9:51 pm

    Check out all the pollen on his legs!

  2. July 15, 2009 9:55 pm

    Hi, Lauren.
    Your bee photo is great; I imagine it’s a squash bee, enjoying a male flower (collecting pollen) or a female flower (for nectar) and then visiting more flowers.

    They’re so cool to watch. I just discovered them a couple of years ago when I actually had some squash for them to visit (http://naturalgardening.blogspot.com/2007/08/squash-flowers-and-squash-bees.html).

    Lisa

  3. Karen Alley permalink
    July 16, 2009 11:56 am

    Your photos are great! Would you be interested in writing for, or submitting photos to, Carolina Gardener? Email me at gardeneditor@gmail.com and I’ll be in touch.

Leave a Reply

