Skip to content

Pumpkin Pests

July 9, 2009

Pests on Pumpkins2

Bug on Underside of Pumpkin Leaves

A few days ago I posted a photo of several bugs congregated on a pumpkin leaf. I asked if anyone could tell me what kind of bug it was and if it was friendly. Well I went back to the pumpkin patch yesterday and found two MORE kinds of bugs on the pumpkin leaves in addition to the first. The Cooperative Extension’s page on pumpkins says that there are a few common problem insects for pumpkins. They include the squash bug, spotted and striped cucumber beetle, seed corn maggot, pickleworm, aphids and squash vine borer. There are no photos though so I cannot tell which ones these might be. The bug in the bottom photo has stripes by the way.  Any ideas?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2009 10:53 pm

    I say capture a few and visit the extension office. (When I have volunteered at the extension office I have had people bring in bugs!)

  2. July 15, 2009 9:58 pm

    Hi, Lauren-
    Janet’s advice is great — they could be squash bugs, but it’s not really my line of expertise.
    Lisa

Leave a Reply

