Skip to content

Problems in the Pumpkin Patch

July 23, 2009

I have written a lot about my pumpkin patch this spring and summer. I was very excited when they first sprouted and began to grow those beautiful flowers. I had great dreams of making pumpkin pie this winter out of the crop that would be produced by those gorgeous vines. Then the bugs came and the heat and humidity of the air you can wear intensity. The very rain that lifted us out of drought and made most plants lush and green, created the conditions that invited both powdery mildew and some sort of wilt to infect the pumpkin patch. The vines are just barely holding on and I think that I will have to pull them up this weekend so that the problems don’t spread to other parts of the garden. So much for having pie pumpkins this year. Any suggestions on what I could have done differently?

Sugar Pumpkin vine eaten by squash vine borers

You can see at the arrow where the vine borers hollowed out this section of the vine thus killing the plant.

pumpkin problems

My once beautiful pumpkin patch has now been reduced to shambles.

Sick pumpkin leaves

You can see that these leaves have more than one type of disease.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cherie permalink
    July 24, 2009 7:35 am

    That’s a shame about your pumpkins. You probably didn’t do anything wrong its just all the rain the east coast has had this year plus, at least where I am, its been relatively cool. I would yank them and plant a fall crop after replacing soil to rid it of the spores from mildew etc. Could be they were in the soil when you planted your pumpkins? Don’t compost the plants you pull, most composts are not hot enough to kill the spores.

    • Lauren permalink*
      July 24, 2009 9:57 pm

      Hi Cherie, Thanks for the suggestion. That is exactly what I was planning to do exactly what you have suggested. The raised beds were just created this year. I purchased the soil this spring so I don’t know if it could have had the spores in it before.

  2. July 24, 2009 7:47 am

    What a shame Lauren. Ginger at Law of the Land (http://lawofthelandblog.blogspot.com/) did some removal of the borer from the vine. The mildew is a problem all over my garden this year. Too much humidity?

  3. August 4, 2009 7:48 pm

    Ugh! The exact same thing happened to me this summer and I just tonight pulled up all of my vines. From what I can tell, there’s little in the way of preventative measures for this type of thing. I can only hope my vines will return again next spring! And I’ll certainly take Cherie’s advice. Good luck to you, too…

    • Lauren permalink*
      August 4, 2009 9:04 pm

      Sorry about your pumpkin patch! What are you going to plant in place of your pumpkins?

  4. luis torres permalink
    July 1, 2011 2:41 pm

    If you see signs of infected leaves use a hobby knife to remove them. As for the squash vine borers use again a hobby knife and go lengthwise down the eaten area (your picture shows what it looks like) and take them out, once that is done put soil over the cut and water asap ( this will encourage it to take root in that area). You cal also use a organic SVB killer which is called bt and wont kill bees so its safe. Good luck next time.

Leave a Reply

