Skip to content

Fall Planting Update-Bush Beans

July 24, 2009

Monday afternoon I planted a 3×3 foot section of garden in the upper back bed with Tenderette variety bush beans. This particular variety was recommended to me by my local farmer’s exchange store, as the best thing for the area and the time. According to the Planting Guide for South Carolina, I am a bit early for the fall planting, but will plant another section or two between now and August 15 which is the latest day indicated in the planting guide. I found a description for tenderett beans on the Reimer Seeds website, the tenderette bean seed “produces heavy yields of 6″ long delicious stringless green beans. It is considered one of the best green been [sic] on the market. Excellent canning and freezing variety. Disease Resistant.” So, I am looking forward to lots more green beans in my future!

It has rained a bit, actually stormed, every day this week except today. All that rain coupled with warm temperatures and plenty of humidity have allowed the seeds I planted to sprout quickly. They are already well on their way to being a crop. I can hardly wait.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2009 9:26 am

    We have a lot of the humidity but not the rain. hmmm… we want water from the sky!
    The beans sound like a good one to grow.

    • Lauren permalink*
      July 26, 2009 1:38 pm

      Well, it is day 7 and I now have small plants and all the seeds germinated. So far my opinion is very positive!

Trackbacks

  1. Tenderette Bean Update « Carolina Victory Garden

Leave a Reply

