Skip to content

Pickle Possibilities

July 29, 2009

We have enjoyed an abundance of rain over the past couple of weeks here in the Carolina Victory Garden and my cucumber vines are producing fruit in record time. Now faced with an abundance of cucumbers, I am contemplating making pickles again this year. Last year I made three batches from two different recipes and had just enough to last for a year with a few jars to share. Last year’s recipes came from The Joy of Cooking. I ordered a book at the end of the season last year called Pickles and Relishes but never had time to use any of the recipes. I also have a copy of my grandmother’s yellow cucumber pickle recipe as well. It was always my favorite, but you have to wait until the last harvest and let the cucumbers get really big and yellow before they are picked. I will probably try to make one batch of those, but will make at least one other. I think I’ll go read my recipe books and see if I can decide which ones to make for this year.

I’d also like to make some chow chow, but I don’t have a recipe for that. Do you have a favorite pickle or chow chow recipe?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 10:29 pm

    I have a bread and butter recipe that is great, but I can’t think of where I put it!!!

  2. Cherie permalink
    July 29, 2009 11:26 pm

    My family loves dill pickels. They are refrigerator pickels. all you do is slice your cukes and add ingredients and let them sit in the fridge. Made so many I didn’t bother with cukes last year. Now I need them and can’t seem to get them to grow! Oh well Ican still get them from the local stands. Hope you find a great recipe.

Leave a Reply

