Skip to content

Kohlrabi

August 1, 2009

Superschmeltz Kohlrabi Planta
Superschmeltz Kohlrabi closeup
I planted a few superschmeltz kohlrabi seeds this summer because I was curious about the plant. I remember my grandfather experimenting with them in his garden but I never saw him harvest them. I had no idea how they would grow. They are quite leafy and the bulbous vegetable grows well above the ground much to my surprise.

I have no idea how my grandmother cooked them. I’ll have to do some research on the subject. Have any ideas?

UPDATE: After further reading I have harvested the three kohlrabi that appeared to be ready lest they get hard and stringy. I’ll be using them for dinner tomorrow in some fashion.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 1, 2009 10:23 pm

    We LOVEEEEEE Kohlrabi!! We peel it and slice it up and eat it raw. The kids like dipping it in Ranch dressing. Super good!

Leave a Reply

