Skip to content

Cucumber/Pickle Update

August 2, 2009

My three wautoma cucumber seeds have really been an amazing investment. I figure that I have saved almost $50 in cucumbers this year so far and just look at how many more are coming on the vines. I think that some bread and butter pickles are in my future this week! I’ll start gathering my supplies together tomorrow or Wednesday.
Cucumber Christmas Ornaments

Cucumbers hanging on the vines remind me of Christmas ornaments hanging on a tree.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2009 10:44 pm

    good choice for pickles!

  2. August 30, 2009 5:50 pm

    Those are beautiful! We’re having a good year for cucumbers here, too. (Also in SC), but we’re growing Sumter and heirloom Lemon cukes as our main varieties.

    Your post reminded me of a German Christmas tradition. In Germany the parents (although it is supposed to be Christ in some households and St. Nikolaus in others) decorate the tree and then the kids get to see it all lit up and decorated at midnight (or after mass).

    The parents hang a single blown-glass pickle on the tree, and the first child to spot it gets an extra gift for being the most observant – a valued character trait in their culture. So someone long ago must have looked at their cucumber vines just like you and thought, “perfect Christmas tree ornament!”

    • Lauren permalink*
      August 30, 2009 6:02 pm

      Well, Hello in Sumter! I have heard that tradition and seen the pickles. It sounds like a pretty fun tradition to me….and hanging from the vine they do look a little like ornaments.

      I have tried to grow lemon cucumbers both in Seattle and in Fort Mill and have yet to get a vine to produce even one cuke. I am jealous!

      Have a victorious week in the garden!

  3. August 30, 2009 6:59 pm

    Sumter is actually the variety name 😉 We’re in Seneca. (I’m not even sure where Sumter is, but I think it’s coastal right? Sorry, new transplant still learning my way around the state.)

    The lemon cukes are soooo slow to ripen, it’s a bit frustrating. I’m thinking they just need a long time left alone.

    Thanks for the gardening wishes — and same to you! Wishing you lots of rain 🙂

    • Lauren permalink*
      August 30, 2009 7:31 pm

      In Seneca. Cool! That is our hometown. When I speak of going to the country, that is where we go. As pitiful as the lake was last year I am glad that you’ve had a lot of rain. We haven’t been able to go lately.

Trackbacks

  1. Fresh Cucumber » Cucumber/Pickle Update « Carolina Victory Garden

Leave a Reply

