Skip to content

Squash Vine Borer Attacks Again

August 12, 2009

More Squash Damage

Squash Vine Borer Damage

I planted a late squash crop this year, scalloped squash,  hoping they would grow unscathed to harvest this fall. But it is not to be. I had three very nice looking plants growing in the back garden, and they looked just fine yesterday afternoon when I checked them. Unfortunately THIS afternoon was another story. This damage was done in 24 hours. The squash were planted right next to a very healthy crop of marigolds which are rumored to discourage these little buggers.

I’ll be doing some research on this matter over the next few days. I’ll make updates when I have some better information. Do you have any suggestions for how to avoid or treat Squash vine borer organically?

UPDATE: According to Rodale’s All-New Encyclopedia of Organic Gardening published in 1997, one can get rid of squash vine borers organically is to slit “afflicted stems and remove and destroy any larvae found inside, or inject the stems with BTK,” and then mound the soil over the slit stems to encourage new root growth.  Will either of these alternatives work? I am going to take the one remaining squash plant and try to destroy the larvae and encourage it to grow more roots. I’ll let you know!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2011 6:22 pm

    … and? How did it go? I’ve started a very small organic farm this year and I think I have borers. I hope you were able to solve your problem – how’s it going this year?

    • Lauren permalink*
      January 28, 2012 2:42 pm

      Hi Leslie, It didn’t go. The squash plants died in spite of my best efforts how about yours?

Trackbacks

  1. Invasion of the Borers « Carolina Victory Garden

Leave a Reply

