Skip to content

Rain Water in the Carolina Victory Garden

August 28, 2009

The past two or three weeks it seems that Mother Nature is a big flirt. We have had over cast skies, hot humid air and even thunder and lightning, but only a few drops of rain. I also heard on the radio a few days ago that 7 counties in North Carolina were back in drought status. It was just a few short months ago that North AND South Carolina were experiencing drought. Last summer we rationed water for lawns and gardens and at the time I had considered purchasing a rain water barrel but decided that I wasn’t ready to make the investment.Well, here we are again with abnormally dry weather and it is taking a toll on the garden and my water bill. Take a look at the Drought Monitor map for the southeast here.

So, let me ask you, do you use capture, store and use rain water to irrigate your garden? What other ways are you working to conserve water in your victory garden? I’ll let you know tomorrow what I will be doing in the Carolina Victory Garden.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cherie permalink
    August 28, 2009 8:46 pm

    I use a soaker hose when it gets dry although this summer haven’t needed to use it much. By deep watering in the morning and mulching or in some beds just crowded plants, I’ve made it through the dry times. I have also been looking at rain barrels, they make sense if you can place them near the garden. In other times of drought I have saved shower, dish water and cooking water(after its cooled) to water gardens.

  2. August 28, 2009 9:45 pm

    Hi Lauren, I love having rain barrels. Hope you guys are getting what we are tonight.
    I am sending a Meme along to you. Hope you will participate. http://thequeenofseaford.blogspot.com/2009/08/what-can-i-tell-you.html

    • Lauren permalink*
      August 29, 2009 9:13 am

      Janet, Mother Nature can be a cruel flirt. Yet another gray day and not a drop of rain. I’ll consider the Meme.

  3. August 30, 2009 6:06 pm

    We’re also in SC and drowning in too much water this week after a long dry spell. I even blogged about how sleepy and drained it’s making me feel, this gray endless rain. But we’re in Upstate. Amazing how different the climate experiences can be, even within the same state!

    I really like your blog 🙂

    • Lauren permalink*
      August 30, 2009 6:10 pm

      Ok yes, I see. My mistake on the location. I didn’t know any place in the upstate was drowning right now, but I am rather envious! Thanks. I discovered your blog not long ago and enjoy reading it when time allows.

  4. September 2, 2009 6:28 am

    We're also in SC and drowning in too much water this week after a long dry spell. I even blogged about how sleepy and drained it's making me feel, this gray endless rain. But we're in Upstate. Amazing how different the climate experiences can be, even within the same state!

    I really like your blog :);. All the best!!

Leave a Reply

