Skip to content

Tenderette Bean Update

September 5, 2009

The second crop of bush beans I planted in July are almost ready to pick. As I said in earlier postings, I had not grown tenderette beans before and I was curious to see how they would perform. Well, I’m glad to say that they have done really well even in adverse weather conditions. When I first planted them it was hot and humid and kept threatening to rain. It did not rain very much though.

The day after we installed the rain barrel it did indeed rain enough to fill the barrel so today I am using rain water to water my beans! What have you planted in your fall garden?

Tenderette Beans planted early July

Tenderette Beans

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2009 8:16 am

    Wow Lauren, your beans look great! I finally planted my lettuce. That is about all I will be planting in the fall.

    • Lauren permalink*
      September 6, 2009 1:42 pm

      Thanks Janet, I have another planting of beans that is about three weeks behind this one. I am still getting tomatoes, and I need to go get the leeks and sweet potatoes out of the ground. It has been so hot that I was afraid to plant other stuff, but I think this may be the week for Kale, spinach and a few other things. I think lettuce will be the last think I plant. I it is still in the high 80s in the afternoons.

Leave a Reply

