Skip to content

Heirloom Tomato Fall Roundup

September 9, 2009

Heirloom Tomato Medly

My tomato plants are still valiantly trying to produce new tomatoes, but I don’t think  I will get a whole lot more off of any of the bushes. The Marion, Brandywine and Beefsteak have been fairly puny all season. Their paltry production was more than offset by the amount, size and quality of the fruit of the German Queen and Cherokee Purple Rose plants.

Lesson Learned: I need taller, sturdier supports for German Queen and Cherokee Purple Rose since they are indeterminate in their growth pattern. I doubt I will grow the Marion, Brandywine and Beefsteak varieties next year.

Which heirloom tomatoes did you have luck with this year?

P.S. It is raining! Finally!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2009 6:55 pm

    Glad to hear it is raining! (though we have had our fair share!! yesterday’s total was 5 inches!!!)
    My tomatoes finally started producing. Hooray! None are heirlooms sorry to say.

  2. September 16, 2009 8:51 pm

    What fabulous tomatoes! I had good tomatoes early, but have only had a few lately. But the 4 or 5 Black Russian tomatoes I’ve harvested have been great.

    I wish we’d had Janet’s five inches of rain. It’s been paltry around here (uh, dry, actually) with some minor rain over the last few days.

  3. October 7, 2009 9:04 pm

    There heirlooms I grew were Costoluto Genovese (never again!), Rutgers, Roma, Yellow Pear, and Cherokee Purple. Cherokee Purple did very well, and tasted wonderfully. I’m definitely a convert. Rutgers is a great all-round tomato. Roma was prolific, as always, but the taste was rather bland compared to the other choices. We’re hardly getting anything now… (October 7), but it was a good summer for tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

