Skip to content

Planting from Seed–Broccoli

November 2, 2009

1Single Broccoli Seed Pod

Broccoli Seed Pods

Suddenly it is November! I am not sure where October and most of September got off to, but here we are. We had our first frost on October 16 and since then it has been very temperate outside. I have cleared the tomato vines and basil bushes out of the garden and planted three kale plants. I got so busy with my business that I failed to get any other seeds in to the ground though I may still run out and plant something just to see what happens this year. Last year I planted Swiss Chard, spinach and salad in the fall and it came up in the spring, lasting almost all summer!

One thing I wanted to do this fall was to save some of the seed  from this year’s plants. I was intrigued to find out what the different seeds looked like as I had never seen some of the seeds except in a paper packet. Broccoli was one of those vegetables and so I have waited patiently for the seeds to form. As you can see, they look a lot like tiny bean pods. I read somewhere that you should wait until they turn brown to collect them so wait I will. What seeds are you saving to plant again next year?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 10:21 am

    I have not seen seed pods on broccoli! How fun. Very few seeds are being collected this year.
    Glad to see you back on the blog.

    • Lauren permalink*
      November 3, 2009 2:01 pm

      I had not seen these seed pods either so it has been fun to watch them grow. My garlic chives went to seed as well. I hadn’t seen chives go to seed yet either. I am glad to be back on the blog. With starting another new business, community activities and marching band with the kids it has been a very full fall!

Leave a Reply

