Skip to content

Pondering Thanksgiving Dinner

November 20, 2009

My sister-in-law is taking the lead on Thanksgiving dinner this year so I don’t have many decisions to make…I have my marching orders, cranberry relish, sweet potato souffle and dessert. Now THAT is the problem…which dessert to make. I saw on the news the other night that pumpkin was in short supply so perhaps I should choose something else…perhaps an old fashioned apple stack cake, coconut cake or pound cake…or a couple of pies…apple, chocolate, pecan, butterscotch…maybe even the vinegar pie I saw a recipe for the other day. Wait a minute…VINEGAR? Yep, in the same cook book as the pumpkin pie I spoke of the other day….a vinegar pie. With only a few short days to make a decision, I had better get back to my cookbooks and make a decision pretty soon! What will you be making for dessert on Thanksgiving? I’ll let you know what I decide.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2009 5:25 pm

    I leave desserts up to my mom, she is the pie-meister! When I have been tasked in the past, Praline Cheesecake. mm-mmm good! love to hear more about the vinegar pie. (German heritage, love vinegar!)

    • Lauren permalink*
      November 21, 2009 7:02 pm

      So far, I am thinking my grandmother’s whipped cream pound cake…flavored with almond and vanilla and perhaps an apple/cranberry crisp. Have to work out the logistics though ’cause we will be traveling Thanksgiving morning to my father-in-law’s and won’t have time to prepare much once we get there. I’d love to do an apfel kuchen, but can’t do that in someone else’s kitchen…not sure they would appreciate it anyway.

      I’ll look up the Vinegar Pie recipe later and post it for you!

  2. Lauren permalink*
    November 25, 2009 10:05 pm

    So, as it turns out, I’ll be taking my grandmother’s Whipped Cream Pound Cake flavored with almond and vanilla…and a cranberry apple crisp. I made a Chocolate Rum Swiss Roll, but it didn’t turn out quite as spongy as it was supposed to and it broke in to pieces once rolled and filled…so we had it for dessert tonight instead.

Trackbacks

  1. Vinegar Pie…. « Carolina Victory Garden

Leave a Reply

