Skip to content

Camellias in the Country

November 30, 2009
tags:

Pink Camillia

Powder Pink Camillia

Pink Camillia and Pink House

pink camillia w leaf

My mother-in-law loved flowering bushes and she placed a lot of them in her yard. The rose bush photos from my last post are from one of at least six rose bushes in the yard. Today’s photos are of her camellia bushes. The bright pink one is planted beside the playhouse my father-in-law built for my eldest daughter when she was three. The little pink house has seen many happy hours of play and many, many kids through the years and the camellia has been watching over it all.

The light pink bushes grace one side of the front of the house with a larger flowering bush in the middle. All the plants on that side of the house are pink, peonies, camellias and a pink dogwood provide almost year round blooms. Standing sentinel over the entire yard are a number of stately trees…oak, magnolia, cedar, holly and others. It is such a beautiful place and very peaceful. A perfect place for spending a holiday.

I don’t know how many different varieties of camellia bushes there are, but I would really like to put one or two in my own yard. I’ll be doing some research to see which ones will work in full sun on the south west side of the house. Any suggestions?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 3:33 pm

    I love Camellias and am very limited on the knowledge of where they do best. I know some are better in full sun than others. Leave the question up —hopefully someone who knows more than I will comment and we both will benefit!

  2. December 1, 2009 8:32 pm

    Lauren,

    Janet said you were asking about camellias. I’m just learning about them and have been doing research on them as well as talking to people that grow them. Look at three posts I did in November there is photos of 35 different ones. Full sun is not the best location for a Camellia, if you can shade it with the house where it gets morning sun I think that would be best. Idea planting for camellia is under pines, they like filtered light year round. Ours are planted under oaks, maples and poplars and have lived one year almost and did produce a lot of buds. You asked about how many different camellias there are at least 3000 maybe 6000. We now have 12.

    • Lauren permalink*
      December 1, 2009 9:51 pm

      Randy,

      Thanks for the information. I’ll take that in to consideration as I consider what to plant where in the spring.

Leave a Reply

