Skip to content

Jack Frost in the Carolina Victory Garden

December 6, 2009

Rudbekia in the Frost

Frozen seed pods

Frostbitten Rudbekia

Our average first frost here in York County, South Carolina is October 16 according to the County Extension office and the SC Master Gardener’s Handbook. Well, we had a light frost on that day, but then it warmed back up and was warm until Thanksgiving when we had another, slightly harder frost. Last night, we were supposed to have snow flurries and all manner of ugly weather, but by late afternoon yesterday, the sky cleared and it just got cold. This frozen rudbekia sits just outside my front door and as you can see, being that close didn’t protect it from the cold.

Now don’t get me wrong, while it did get just below freezing last night, it was not an arctic blast by any means. I find it quite interesting that, the longer I am back in the south, the thinner my blood seems to become…or perhaps that is just age creeping in….my days of messing around in the frigid north are probably over…these days I much prefer a warmer climate and the flowers and vegetables that I can grow, even in winter. For now these seed pods are dormant, but in a while, spring will come again and they will spread and grow more flowers.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 9:53 am

    We finally had a hard(ish) frost last night. Just amazing how late it is this year. We have plants that are putting out their spring buds already.
    Going to SC next week….time to look at the progress of the house. Guess I need my warm jacket.

    • Lauren permalink*
      December 7, 2009 12:45 pm

      Janet, I have daffodil bulbs that are poking their heads out of the ground already and I have noticed that some trees are already budding. I am just praying that the fruit crops are not adversely impacted by the weather this year!

    • Lauren permalink*
      December 7, 2009 12:45 pm

      Janet, I have daffodil bulbs that are poking their heads out of the ground already and I have noticed that some trees are already budding. I am just praying that the fruit crops are not adversely impacted by the weather this year!

Leave a Reply

