Skip to content

Garden Goal #7

January 1, 2010

I will plant a couple of things that are just for fun and experimentation.

  1. Study my new seed catalogs
  2. Ask for suggestions
  3. Make smart choices.

Last year I planted Kale and Swiss Chard for the first time ever and my teens discovered that there are greens they actually like!

Janet over at Queen of Seaford blog suggested the addition of Winter Savory. Do you have any other suggestions? Last year’s planting list can be found here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2010 9:11 pm

    I would add lots more herbs!! Parsley (enough for you and the caterpillars!) Basil, thyme, oregano, salad burnett (annual…tastes like cucumbers) stevia (the sweet one) and of course Rosemary. This year I did a couple tomatoes- one of which was a cherry… had cherry tomatoes until just before Thanksgiving. The thyme, rosemary, oregano, parsley, and winter savory are perennial in our zone. Basil, salad burnett and stevia are annuals.

  2. January 3, 2010 7:40 pm

    Looks like you left zucchini and eggplant off your list. Of course, the zucchini may have been omitted on purpose 😉

    If it’s your first time growing eggplant, I highly recommend the Japanese eggplant called Ichiban. It did so well for us and really outshone the competition.

    Also, consider giving Cherokee Purple tomato a try. It’s an heirloom variety that is not super productive, but manages to do fine in the heat and was disease resistant in my garden. And oh my goodness, the taste! This was the first summer I tasted this variety straight from the garden, and it’s definitely my favorite tomato ever.

    And I’m with Janet on the herbs, especially basil, cilantro, dill and chives (all but chives were easy to grow from seed for me). They’ll help you make the most of all that fresh produce 🙂

    • Lauren permalink*
      January 3, 2010 8:17 pm

      Thanks for your suggestions! I did plant zucchini, but they never came up. I’ve had terrible luck 2 years in a row with all things squash and pumpkin. I haven’t made my list for 2010 yet so I might consider trying them again. I haven’t grown eggplant. My neighbor does though. It is another item I might consider.

      The Cherokee Purple Rose tomato was a winner in my garden this year. Three plants produced more than the other 10 combined. I’ll be planting them again.

      I also grew tons of basil, cilantro, dill, chives, rosemary, oregano, sage and borage last year. When we lived in Seattle I also grew feverfew, lady’s mantle, lemon balm and mints. I’ll be adding to the list for 2010.

  3. January 3, 2010 7:42 pm

    Oh, and this is Meredith Wickham from Victory Garden Redux 🙂 I think my wordpress account is set up to recognize the other blog (kind of the everything else but gardening blog, lol) as my main one. You visited me today, and I appreciate it!

  4. littlehousesouthernprairie permalink
    January 10, 2010 10:10 pm

    Hello! I am in Charlotte and my pumpkins didn’t make it this year either.

    • Lauren permalink*
      January 11, 2010 8:24 am

      Yes, it was a very frustrating year for pumpkins and squash too. Judging from the number of searches done on pumpkin problems this year we in the Charlotte area weren’t the only ones with such issues! Thanks for stopping by the blog…

Leave a Reply

