Skip to content

Garden Goal #8

January 3, 2010

I will make pickles AND chow chow.

  1. I will get out my recipes early.
  2. I will gather all the spices and containers needed.
  3. I will take a couple of afternoons to process the recipes.
  4. I will enjoy a year’s worth of pickles and chow chow!

Do you have a favorite pickle or chow chow recipe? I have several that I will share during the year.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 7:33 pm

    Oh, I like this goal. Now when I’ve had to go back to the grocery store produce department, I’m wishing I’d been more dedicated to preserving the harvest, you know?

    I may be able to wrangle my grandmother’s chow chow recipe out of my aunt. Meanwhile, looking forward to seeing yours during the season.

    Do remind me, which cucumber varieties did very well for you this year? (You’re close to me regionally, and I had a mixed bag and want better results next year.)

    • Lauren permalink*
      January 3, 2010 8:10 pm

      M.E., I used Wautoma Cucumbers in 2009. They came in a Victory Garden collection my husband got for me from Territorial Seed. They are still the only place I have seen that specific type for 2010. I am not affiliated with them, but have used their seed for a number of years.

Leave a Reply

