Skip to content

The Newest Challenge in the Garden

January 10, 2010

My eldest daughter got engaged over Christmas. She and her fiance want a garden wedding at her grandpa’s farm, the place I call the country garden. The challenge is getting the yard and garden in shape for that kind of company. There is plenty of room in several different parts of the farm to have a wedding. All are lovely, but neglected. We go as often as possible, but it is difficult to keep up with all that needs to be done.  There is a good foundation though. My mother-in-law has planted many bulbs, flowering shrubs and trees…There is something blooming pretty much year round, but there are also a lot of blank spaces and cudzu.

We have time to get the place in order I think. The date is tentatively set for April 30, 2011. I would like to have the place really shine for my father-in-law and to honor my mother-in-law’s memory as this date is her birthday and she loved a good wedding. Over the next year, I will be including photos of parts of the place. Perhaps you will be able to give me some suggestions on plants to plant, move or remove.  If you remember, I have shown pictures of some of the old roses and the view from the sun porch looking east.

I am hoping that you will be able to give me some guidance as we move forward with this project. I would like to create an atmosphere full of good memories for my daughter and her new husband ot their special day. Here is another photo…this one from outside the sun porch on the driveway looking up toward the main road. Yes, it is a long, winding driveway.  The top of the driveway is in front of the white house at the top of the hill.

View from the house up the driveway

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 12:37 am

    What a fun challenge. I look forward to seeing the process. Pictures, we need lots of pictures. April will be a great time to have a garden wedding. Congrats to the future bride and groom.

    • Lauren permalink*
      January 11, 2010 8:30 am

      Yes, there will be more photos. The next time we go over, I will start taking photos from a wider angle. To the left of the photo in this post, in the front yard are two very, very large Magnolia trees and a large dogwood tree, a pink one. Along the front of the house are two camilla bushes and another whose name I can’t remember that all have light pink blooms…and there are 4 hydrangea, blue, offspring of a bush given to my mother in law when my husband was born…uhhhh…a long time ago. There are a lot of bulbs and at least one peony. It is a large front yard.

  2. January 11, 2010 11:59 am

    Oh, wow. I’ll suggest where I can, but to be honest I’ve never done much landscaping. You need to pick the brain of someone with skills for such an exciting occasion. 🙂

    One thing I could suggest doing right away is to plan some planters or large, attractive container plantings that you can carry up there and place strategically around your chosen area, to decorate pathways or flank an aisle, or cover up a particularly bare spot. You don’t have to be able to choose your spot yet for that, and you could go ahead and start looking around for your plants and containers now. Plus, your daughter might help you choose them. 🙂

    • Lauren permalink*
      January 11, 2010 2:17 pm

      Hi Meredith,

      The containers are a good idea. My bigger concern is just making the beds that are their look their best now, so that we only have a few holes to fill later. Don’t worry, this is one independent kid and she will be part of all decisions!

      The biggest constraint is that the farm is in Seneca….and I am not their on a daily basis….yet.

  3. January 11, 2010 3:31 pm

    Seneca, SC?? Hey, that’s where I am. I’ll definitely be watching to see how it shapes up for a local wedding. How exciting! 🙂 And congratulations on your daughter getting married! (I should have said this before. ;))

    • Lauren permalink*
      January 11, 2010 6:35 pm

      Yep, I knew that you were in Seneca…..and thanks! Our daughter is very happy and we like the young man….we will be happier when he returns safely from Afghanistan, but that will come with time.

  4. January 11, 2010 7:45 pm

    What a trial for you and your family. I hope he does return to you soon, safe in body and mind and heart.

    And again, congratulations!

  5. February 2, 2010 11:29 am

    I usually don’t post on Blogs but ya forced me to, great info.. excellent! … I’ll add a backlink and bookmark your site.

    Robert Shumake

  6. February 2, 2010 7:38 pm

    Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Robert Shumake

Leave a Reply

