Skip to content

Rain

January 25, 2010
tags: ,

There’s not been much going on in the garden lately though I have been pleasantly surprised that the kale has bounced back after the big three week freeze. We’ve finally had a few more “warm” days and some rain. Speaking of rain, last night it was as though the clouds pulled out all the stops. It would seem we received between three and four inches of rain last night. I can’t say I have ever heard rain like that before…not even during several well known hurricanes I have experienced. The difference was that last night it was all rain and no wind. When we first moved to this part of South Carolina three and a half years ago the area was experiencing an extended drought. We’ve been gaining water nicely this past year, but last night was a real drought buster.

Today there are several new paths in the back yard where the rivers of water ran down to the creek. I missed getting a photo today. I’ll try to get one tomorrow. How’s the weather in your neck of the woods?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 10:45 pm

    I have been looking at the lake levels. Heard there were some flash flood warnings. We had a good bit of rain as well, though I think my rain gauge has a crack in it as there was barely an inch in the gauge.

    • Lauren permalink*
      January 26, 2010 10:42 pm

      Yes, there were flash flood warnings. One whole exit interchange on I-85 was underwater. Creeks that have always had 8-9 feet of clearance had water up just under the bridge. I had visions of needing a boat of Biblical proportions. I have since seen a lower number measurement of rain, but none of those measurements were right here. The lake should be VERY full right now.

Leave a Reply

