Skip to content

Spring Speculation

March 13, 2010

Every year it seems we ponder, will this be an early spring or a late one, a dry spring or a wet one, a warm spring or a cool one? This year’s weather does seem different than last, but when I stop to think about what is actually different, the answer is well, it may be a lot wetter and a little cooler. We had three snows instead of one and lots and lots of rain. Has all this difference in weather changed the behavior of the plants? Well, perhaps for some, but my measure has always been the daffodils. Last year I mentioned the first bloom on March 26. Will the same bulbs bloom by March 26 this year? You be the judge. Here is where they are now on March 13. I took these photos just this morning.

Daffodils 031310

Daffodils2 031310

Just for reference, I measured the plants this morning and they were, for the most part between 4 and 8 inches tall. Will they bloom by March 26th? I guess we will have to wait and see. Care to speculate?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 10:00 am

    Hi Lauren, I suspect not. I think plants are about 10- 14 days behind last year. I do think this extra rainfall/snow will make for abundant growth this season.
    I was looking at pictures from my files and find it hard to believe how far behind we are this year. Our forsythia is just starting to bloom.

    • Lauren permalink*
      March 15, 2010 6:55 am

      You are probably right Janet. My dogwoods don’t have nice fat buds just yet and neither do the azaleas. The daffodils aren’t showing a bud yet either.

Leave a Reply

