Skip to content

Spring Speculation Update–Daffodil Buds

March 20, 2010

The weather has turned decidedly spring this week and all the plants are soaking in the sun, making up for lost time. I love the anticipation that awaits new flowers and leaves. Last week I was speculating about whether my daffodils would bloom before March 26, which is the date I recorded first blooms last year. My neighbors across the street and next door have blooms but mine are lagging behind. There could be a couple of reasons for that:

  • My daffodils are planted in the front beds up next to the house and don’t get sun until about 3 pm right now. Next door they are planted out at the street under the mail box and so have no shadow on them at all. Across the street receives the morning and early afternoon sun.
  • On one side of the walk the bulbs came from my mother-in-law’s collection, transplanted from her yard two years ago…I have no idea how old they were before that. On the other side, I had purchased new bulbs, but they are fancy ones…perhaps they have a different bloom cycle.
  • Maybe they were planted deeper.

Daffodil 032010f

Daffodils 032010


These are all the variables I can think of that would make a difference. Anyway, there is still hope that they will bloom by the 26th. While the plants are not much taller than last week, there are definitely buds maturing in to flowers. As you can see, one of the buds has damage from frost. We will wait and see if they make it by the 26th!

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 9:08 am

    I tell you, mine just popped overnight! I really enjoy taking inventory every morning to see what else is open.

Leave a Reply

