Skip to content

Amazing Seed and Plant Survival

April 12, 2010

I am truly amazed to find the following plants in the Carolina Victory Garden this year. The heuchera is on its third summer in this pot. It has been fried from direct afternoon sunlight, frozen in winter, deluged with rain and parched in drought (sometimes I forget to water). Cilantro is another. I planted the cilantro/coriander last year and let it go to seed. A little rain, a little warm weather and a seed in the right location and poof! a volunteer cilantro plant or two. I was amazed to find these on Saturday when I cleared that bed. Last but not least, two years ago I planted a foxglove on this spot. It died. Last year nothing came up. This year, however, we have a plant. I am constantly awed by the power of mother nature.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 12, 2010 9:34 pm

    The longer I have Heuchera the more I am impressed with this plant. As long as the bunnies don’t eat it Heuchera seems to thrive.
    I was hoping for some parsley volunteers. Congrats on the baby cilantro. I enjoy finding new things growing in the spring…..little bitty successes.

  2. April 18, 2010 8:37 pm

    Lauren,
    How nice to have cilantro seedlings! Parsley, dill, and fennel (a bit of a thug) reseed, too. I was hoping for some borage seedlings a couple of years ago, but am happy this season with a huge comfrey plant that’s re-emerged in the corner of the main vegetable garden (its leaves will be turned into compost).

    Your kale and other greens look good!

    Lisa

    Oh, and I agree with Janet that Heucheras can be tough plants, especially the ones with Southern genes!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Amazing Seed and Plant Survival « Carolina Victory Garden -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

