Skip to content

Carolina Victory Garden Updates

May 10, 2010

Whew what a busy time it has been since Easter! I’ve hardly had time to tend the garden but it is growing anyway. This weekend was the first opportunity I’ve had to go look in some of my favorite garden centers to look for the plants I prefer not to grow from seed. Check out the Plant List to see what I’ve added and stay tuned for more.

In the front bed where the netting is I’ve planted two pumpkin plants and four crook neck squash plants. They are growing well as is the Zucchini. The salad mix is having mixed results in one of the smaller front beds. I suspect that it is just too hot in the front of the house, and the weather too weird this year, to grow salad successfully. On the other hand, there are a couple of volunteer plants out back growing like crazy. Watouma Cucumbers finish out the row. I’ve planted a line of sunflowers behind all of these plants using saved seed from last year’s flowers. We’ll see if they grow.

The big news is that I have tiny pimento peppers growing on the pimento plant.  There are also tiny buds on the jalepeno. We’re still waiting for the Red Bell Pepper to decide what it wants to do. I’m still looking for something to plant in the last of the front, small beds.

That is what is going on in the front raised beds for now. Stay tuned for the rest of the garden. I’ll take more photos soon.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 2:33 pm

    You have been very busy! What a great garden you have put together.

Leave a Reply

