Skip to content

One Furry Vandal

May 12, 2010

There is a vandal in the Carolina Victory Garden. Actually it is only one tiny rabbit, but it is amazing the damage one little rabbit can inflict on otherwise unsuspecting green bean plants! Mr. Rabbit has eaten ALL of the leaves off my green beans and those of the neighboring garden. I still have flower buds on mine, but my neighbor’s bean stems are standing naked in the wind. So I ask you, is there a gentle way to encourage a hungry rabbit to eat elsewhere?

UPDATE: I ran across one of my furry vandals tonight in the garden. Thought I would show you his mug shot.

The Carolina Victory Garden Vandal

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2010 9:34 pm

    I have used blood meal around the plants I don’t want nibbled. It is moderate success. Rabbits are very nasty little critters.

    • Lauren permalink*
      May 13, 2010 1:24 pm

      And this one is fat and getting fatter too! Grrrrr…..

  2. Jennifer Gallagher permalink
    May 22, 2010 9:59 am

    I was going to say blood meal, as Janet has suggested, but the only way to protect tasty crops from rapidly procreating rodents is to fense the garden and get a cat. I’m a dog person myself and, truth be told, my garden cat was more interested in flattening my strawberry plants to optimze the solar radiation and sunbathe than to chase rabbits. It just seems to be Gods plan that rabbits and gardeners are in an eternal battle for the same delicious plants.

    • Lauren permalink*
      May 22, 2010 5:40 pm

      Thanks for the suggestions Jennifer. There are a couple of feral cats that roam the neighborhood. My neighbor put a bird house at the end of her garden which backs up to mine. Last year the cats thought that my beds were for their sleeping and other personal needs if you get my drift. All in all, the bunny may not be so bad. We have a dog as well, but he is just a big lug and would tromp through the whole thing and dig to his heart’s content if I would let him. He’s cute though. I guess I’ll try the blood meal.

Leave a Reply

