Skip to content

Pimento Peppers

May 24, 2010

Growing up in the south, Pimento cheese sandwiches were standard fair for lunch. It was always and orangish color with red flecks and it tasted nice and cool. I guess I never really thought about the red flecks. I just accepted that they were pimentos.

A little later I discovered olives, which also had pimentos…little red slivers which were stuffed in to the cavity left by the pit. You could get the pimentos in a jar at the grocery store and I never really thought about how they grew or even what species a pimento might be. Then I learned they were peppers and that was cool, but I had still never seen one. When I saw a pimento plant at the local garden center I jumped at the chance to grow a few of my own. Of course they aren’t ripe yet, but I’m watching and waiting for something yummy!

Pimento Pepper-not ripe

Pimento Pepper Plant

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 8:31 am

    My husband LOVES pimento cheese! Ruby Tuesdays now has a cheeseburger that uses pimento cheese…he is in heaven.

    • Lauren permalink*
      May 27, 2010 7:48 pm

      I’ll let you know how they turn out. It seems a prolific little plant.

Leave a Reply

