Skip to content

First Harvest 2010

May 27, 2010

After three years of amending the soil in the original Carolina Victory Garden bed, I have finally harvested my first two radishes. They were very tasty and I can’t wait for a few more to be ready to pull and eat! No martinis here, just straight out of the garden yummy. These first two were nice and peppery.

I think that it will take another year or so of adding more organic matter to this box to make a real difference. The first load of dirt I had brought in was very hard and clumpy. Last year I began burying coffee ground, tea leaves and other organic matter straight in to the garden. Since the rabbits are adamant about eating all the leaves off of the bean plants, I will probably bury them soon as well. In the meantime, I’m looking forward to more radishes.

First Harvest--Radish!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2010 9:03 pm

    You are very dedicated!! Two radishes, you rock. 😉 I would bury the rabbits as well.

    • Lauren permalink*
      May 28, 2010 8:05 am

      Thanks Janet, I would love to get all the beds to the point where they will support those root vegetables. I love carrots, turnips, radish and potatoes and would even try my hand at beets if I could get them to grow as they should. It just takes time.

Leave a Reply

