Skip to content

Invasion of the Borers

June 12, 2010

There must be a union of squash vine borers here in South Carolina. Three years in a row they have invaded my squash, zucchini and pumpkin patches. Well this year I am going to fight back. Tomorrow I will try to scrape the borers out of the vines, then I will bury the vines to try to get them to root further so as to allow them to continue growing. See last year’s post in the update. Sounds like tedious, back breaking work and I expect that some of the vines will get discarded due to difficulty reaching them.

I have learned that the front beds are almost too much in full sun to allow things to grow. The cucumber plants that I planted just last week are being taxed by the heat and I fear that even if I get the vine borers out, they will expire from heat stroke. It has been a challenge to get enough water on the garden to keep all the plants in front refreshed. Well, off to the vines. Wish me luck! I’ll let you know how things go.

Damage from Squash Vine Borers

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

