Skip to content

Peppers

June 19, 2010

Pimento and Jalepeno peppers

This is my first pepper/chile harvest for the year. The Jalapeño will go well with tomorrow’s fajitas. It will add a little spice to the day.

The other peppers are a little unusual to us. While almost everyone who grew up in the south is familiar with pimento cheese sandwiches and most folks know that the little red thing in the olive is also a pimento, I had never seen one in its original form. They are pretty small, the two on the left are not much bigger than the first digit of my thumb. I am looking forward to tasting one fresh from the garden so that I can make a comparison.

To those of you who are Dads, have a happy Father’s Day tomorrow!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 11:42 pm

    Oh, I’m envious that you’ve been able to harvest your first peppers.

    Mine are still growing vigorously (in the mts.) but I’ve got a couple of developing ‘pizza’ peppers in containers here at home in the Piedmont, too.

    Enjoy!

    LW

    • Lauren permalink*
      June 20, 2010 1:22 pm

      Glad yours are growing Lisa, my bell pepper isn’t doing much, but the pimento is growing like wild as are the hot peppers. Your mountain gardens are quite handsome. I am glad that you have the option to plant in both places.

Leave a Reply

