Skip to content

Plans for the Country Garden

February 10, 2012

After a fun discussion with Lisa over at Natural Gardening, I think we have a plan for the country garden that will give us a few things to harvest while allowing for time to establish the garden space a bit better. So far I think we will experiment with the following:

  • Garlic
  • Onions
  • Winter Squash
  • Pumpkins
  • Popcorn
  • Sunflowers
  • Potatoes–maybe sweet, maybe white
  • Gourds

We may add  or subtract other items as reality sets in, but these are the goal for now. It has been probably 25 years since there was a vegetable garden on the property and we will be using a different location from the original. Grass will need to be moved and beds created or we will have to do it the old fashioned way with rows which I  would really like to avoid. I will need to expand my knowledge base just a bit with some extra night time reading before we get started. Yes, I’d better hurry!

Next week I’ll be in the country garden so I’ll be able to take some photos. We have plenty of room so I think some blueberry bushes and perhaps some other trees or vine type fruits will come with time. Our best garden, the one in Utah, had grapevines, apricot trees, a cherry tree, an apple tree, peach trees and rhubarb all in one little quarter acre lot and we had more than enough to eat, preserve and share. With more room, the possibilities are endless and a little overwhelming.

While I am in Seneca next week I’m going to take time to visit the South Carolina Botanical Garden. I’ll try to get some good photos there as well.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2012 9:27 pm

    Lauren,
    I hope you enjoy a longer visit to the South Carolina Botanical Garden (and many more to come). It’s a great place to explore and enjoy.
    Lisa

    • Lauren permalink*
      February 20, 2012 8:57 pm

      Thanks Lisa! I enjoyed meeting you and getting to see the SC Botanical Garden. There will definitely be more, longer visits…and on the way to the car I got word that my daughter got her acceptance letter to Tigertown thus ensuring even more visits! lol

Leave a Reply

