Skip to content

Planting List for 2012

March 21, 2012

I’ve got my planting lists pretty much nailed down now so I’ve updated the Planting Lists page here on the blog so you can see what I am planting this year. Some things are old favorites, but there are lot of new and experimental items too. I have several recipes that call for celeraic but I can never find it in the grocery store so I’m trying to grow that. Popcorn is another new crop in the Carolina Victory Garden. The country or Seneca garden has plenty of room so why not! I’m really excited about the prospects of having my own pumpkins from which to make pies as well.

I’ve been sitting on my hands trying to decide if I should go ahead and plant or not, but I think this weekend we’ll put in the first of the seeds in Fort Mill. The weekend after, we’ll plant the garden in Seneca. With luck, there will be no crazy hail storms (like last April 9) and no more frosts.  It seems too warm now for the cool weather veggies. What are your thoughts on planting early given the present weather?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2012 8:50 pm

    I only do herbs on the deck and tomatoes on the deck. Have lots of flower seeds started, have a big yard to fill!

    • Lauren permalink*
      March 22, 2012 5:14 pm

      Janet, why only on the deck? After all, you DO have a big yard to fill…

      • March 22, 2012 5:21 pm

        We have deer and fox and dogs and rabbits and are not supposed to have a fence (HOA rules) So we support the farmer’s market for most of our veggies, supplementing our tomatoes on the deck. The front yard has the most sun, but the slope would be a pain and again…HOA issues.

      • Lauren permalink*
        March 22, 2012 5:25 pm

        Oh, I see. We may run into some of the same problems in Seneca…minus the HOA. Time will tell!

  2. April 3, 2012 10:44 pm

    Hi, Lauren-
    I’m pretty much jumping right through cool-season veggies to warm-season ones.

    My early seeded cool-season brassicas are all bolting because of the heat, and I’ve still got enough overwintered ones to harvest that I’m figuring with the warm temperatures, why not just wait and do the warm season veggies. I haven’t sowed any seeds or put in any transplants yet. I think we’re pretty much safe in terms of late frosts (because of the warm soil temperatures), but my husband (out doing field work in the mountains) actually saw a bit of snow in a thunderstorm today (the car temp showed 50°F, however).

    Lisa

  3. Lauren permalink*
    April 7, 2012 9:30 am

    Hi Lisa,

    I did the same. Stay tuned for posts on last week’s adventures in the gardens.

Leave a Reply

