Skip to content

Onions Galore

March 24, 2012

225 Onion Sets

I thought I’d be smart and order one of those sampler collections of onions that gives you a few of three different varieties and then I realized that I had ordered a total of 225 onion sets, 75 each Candy (Yellow), Super Star (White), and Red Candy Apple (red).. They came last Friday in a very small but aromatic box. I won’t get to the country garden where they are to be planted until next Thursday evening and they won’t get planted until next Saturday, April 1st at the soonest. Not to worry though, if the instructions are to be believed, they will last 3 weeks unplanted as long as they don’t get too dry or too wet. These were drying out a bit so I have given their roots a drink per the directions. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that they will actually grow once they are in the ground!

Are you planting onions this year? If so, what kinds and how many?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 6:54 pm

    I haven’t done onions…though if I did, I would be sure to plant ‘Carolina Sweet’ what a nice onion!

    • Lauren permalink*
      March 25, 2012 7:50 pm

      Thanks for the suggestion! I will make a note for next year’s garden.

  2. March 26, 2012 1:40 pm

    Planting onions is right up there with planting tomatoes! I love lots of onions. 225 seems like a lot though. Good luck with your planting! If dried properly, they will last a long time for you.

Leave a Reply

