Skip to content

Tomato Tribulations

May 6, 2012

Wilting Tomato Plants

I planted my tomato seeds in the front raised bed in the Carolina Victory Garden at the end of March during the first warm spell. Of course, a week later, it was back in the 50s again. It warmed up again a couple of weeks later, but my seeds never came up. Faced with the prospect of no tomatoes, I took myself to my nearest farm store and purchased 6 tomato plants, 2 Cherokee Purple, 2 Mr. Stripey and 2 Black Krim. I planted then on Friday. Now I have discovered that the front bed may get too much sun for too long each day. Given lots of water, the plants are still quite wilted at the end of the day.

UPDATE: Photo added. This photo was taken at 11 am. The area was watered yesterday evening and again this morning about 7:30 and the middle plant especially is already wilting. I am not sure how I will do it, but I’m thinking I will need to create some sort of sun screen to shade the plants from the heat of the day. Any suggestions on how I might accomplish this?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. CelloSara permalink
    May 7, 2012 7:58 am

    Maybe hang an old sheet?

    • Lauren permalink*
      May 7, 2012 8:46 am

      Thanks for the suggestion! Unfortunately, this bed is in the front yard so whatever I do, needs to look neat and still have curb appeal.

      • May 7, 2012 8:49 am

        Hmmm….could you put a taller plant in front of it?

  2. May 7, 2012 4:18 pm

    Put some hay mulch down. That will help retain moisture in your soil. Put several inches down- not just a light dusting. If you put it on too light you will just be introducing weed seeds to your area.

    • Lauren permalink*
      May 7, 2012 4:29 pm

      Thank you Becky, I was thinking of that but would probably have not put down enough. Would you put down hay or straw?

  3. May 7, 2012 6:00 pm

    I don’t think it matters because you are not interested in the nutritional value just keep in mind – barrier. You want a barrier between the soil and the sun. If you can get straw for free go for it. I use hay because we make our own.

Leave a Reply

