Skip to content

State of the Garden for May 2012

May 8, 2012

The first fix for the tomato bed is in place. Step one is a length of soaker hose to deliver water closer to the roots. The next step will be to add some mulch to cover the soil as suggested by Fourth Generation Farm Wife. I’ll keep you updated on the progress. I am afraid that the  state of the rest of the Carolina Victory Garden in Fort Mill is quite sad. The carrots and beets have sprouted as have the crooked neck squash. None of the other seeds I planted have sprouted as of yet. In addition to this problem, I seem to have an over abundance of grass growing where the seeds should have sprouted. My guess is that either the grass seed was in the compost I added this year or it flew there when the yard was over seeded. We have been quite busy with work and have probably paid less attention to the garden as I should have. Needless to say, I’ll be spending several hours over the next few days eradicating the grass from the raised beds in between business meetings!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

