Skip to content

The Carolina Victory Garden Has Gone Country

February 4, 2015

2015 Garden Expansion

It’s been a very long time since I posted on this blog and I have missed being here with my gardening friends. Last year we realized one of our major goals. We moved to the Country Garden full time. What does that mean exactly? It means we have bid goodbye to our companionable gardening neighbors and to the collection of raised beds that made up the original Carolina Victory Garden. Our home is almost three hours farther west and it is surrounded by water on three sides. Some of our closest neighbors are visible from the yard but most are not. Its dark enough at night to really see the stars. The new Carolina Victory Garden has grown exponentially over the past three years as we have tentatively experimented, applied what we’ve learned, acquired tools to make the work easier and more effective, and grown in confidence that perhaps we may actually be able to supply vegetables for our family year round. Our first garden in this spot was small and what the deer didn’t devour, my gardening companion ran over with his new tractor while trying to pull steel supports our of the ground  next to the garden. (He really was trying to be careful, he just got into the moment.)  Last year’s garden was roughly twice the size of the one in the link above. This year, I’ve actually measured the garden. This site will be almost 3000 square feet, twice the size of last year’s garden plot! My gardening companion has decided to get more involved as well. He will be using the garden site his parents used when he was growing up. That will add another 4000 square feet to the garden.   2015 Lower Garden Site

Our plan for the moment is to plant the Three Sisters; corn, beans and squash in what will be known as the Lower Garden. It’s down the front hill from the house. Perhaps we will even put a row of flowers in the Lower Garden to entice bees to buzz on by for a visit. Everything else will be planted in the original Country garden. I’ve been adding the 2015 Planting list to the Planting List page. Perhaps I’ll also discuss it in a future post. There are reasons for some of my choices that might provoke discussion.   For now, let me welcome you again to the NEW and improved Carolina Victory Garden. Stop on by now and then to visit, get a few laughs and make a new friend or two.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. thequeenofseaford permalink
    February 10, 2015 10:45 am

    Hi Lauren, glad you are back to the blog (have to get back myself). We are now in Greenwood, enjoying SC and all it has to offer. Have you gone to any of the Upstate gardening events? (I just went to the Greenville Gardening Symposium).

    • Lauren permalink*
      February 10, 2015 2:56 pm

      Hi Janet and thank you! I do remember that you moved to Greenwood and I am glad you enjoy living there. The only gardening event I’ve been to in the past year was to take the Sustainable Small Farms and Backyards class. I had called to find out about the Master Gardening program but they had just started that class. The one I ended up taking was more what I wanted at the time so it was a great fit. I would be interested in anything coming up. Perhaps we could meet at one sometime. Timing will be the thing, but if I know ahead of time I might be able to plan.

      • thequeenofseaford permalink
        February 10, 2015 11:16 pm

        Hi Lauren, We should meet up for sure. I know there is a plant sale in April at the Clemson Botanical Garden….don’t have the date at my finger tips… will let you know. Are you on Facebook? There are lots of SCNC garden bloggers on there.

Leave a Reply

